

## Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

## COMMISSION MEMBERS

R. DAVID GAUDI JR., Ed.D.

Chairperson Hawaii Association of Independent Schools

ODIE J. DOUGLAS Vice Chairperson Association of California School Administrators

MICHAEL ALVAREZ Western Catholic Educational Association

CUAHTEMOC AVILA, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

KEVIN BAKER, Ph.D. East Asia Regional Council of Schools

GRANT BENNETT Association of California School Administrators

DANNY BLAS California Teachers Association

RON CARRUTH, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

MICHAEL COLLINS California Association of Private School Organizations

GREGORY DHUYVETTER Western Catholic Educational Association

LEE DUNCAN, Ed.D. Association of Christian Schools International

TOBY ELMORE California Association of Private School Organizations

JON FERNANDEZ Pacific Islands

JUAN A. FLECHA Association of California School Administrators

KRISTIE FLOHRA National Lutheran School Accreditation

ANDREA FUKUMOTO Hawaii State Department of Education

ESTHER KANEHAILUA Hawaii State Department of Education

CINDY KAZANIS California Department of Education

DIANNA MACDONALD California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

KAWENA MARTINEZ Hawaii State Teachers Association

MONIQUE MCWAYNE California Department of Education

DEREK MINAKAMI Hawaii Government Employees' Association

LINDA NORMAN, Ed.D. Western Catholic Educational Association

CHRISTOPHER OASE California School Boards Association

DOREEN OLESON, Ed.D. California Association of Independent Schools

ANDREW RODRIGUEZ California Federation of Teachers

MATTHEW RUSSO, Ed.D. Postsecondary Education

JASON SAMPLE Charter Schools

JONATHAN SCHILD, Ed.D. Western Catholic Educational Association

DAVID SCIARRETTA, Ed.D.

LAURA STEFANSKI Public Member, California

KATHERINE THOROSSIAN, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

BERIT VON POHLE, Ed.D. Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

DIANA WALSH-REUSS, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

LIVINGSTON (JACK) WONG Public Member, Hawaii May 3, 2022

Christine Berdiansky, Program Administrator Santa Clara Adult Education 1840 Benton Street Santa Clara, California 95050

Dear Christine Berdiansky:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Spring 2022 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined Santa Clara Adult Education (AD) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the school's report, and the satisfactory completion of the accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant six-year accreditation status through June 30, 2028 with a mid-cycle visit during the 2024-2025 school year.

Santa Clara Adult Education is required to prepare an in-depth progress report for the mid-cycle visit. The report and visit should demonstrate that the school has: 1) addressed the critical areas for follow-up through the schoolwide action plan; 2) made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and 3) improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon Santa Clara Adult Education's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

The Commission looks forward to Santa Clara Adult Education's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

R. David Gaudi Jr., Ed.D. Commission Chairperson

cc: Visiting Committee Chairperson